• Colorado Springs 719-593-0357
  • Pueblo 719-214-7197

Ghost Town Museum

The Ghost Town Museum in Colorado Springs, Colorado, is an indoor, self-guided tour through the old mining town. Located at 400 S 21st St, Colorado Springs, CO 80904. You’ll see old timey items, such as carriages and shooting galleries. You’ll also get to play a shooting gallery game! There’s even a working dynamite gun! And for the truly curious, there’s a shooting gallery game! After all, it’s a ghost town!

St. Elmo is a ghost town

Founded in 1880, St. Elmo was once a vibrant mining town. Although only a few people live there today, the town’s population steadily decreased after the 1893 fire. Miners began looking elsewhere for gold and silver, and by the late 1890s, the population had fallen to just a few hundred. In addition, the town’s post office was shut down in 1952, and there are now only two full-time residents.

One of the most well-preserved ghost towns in Colorado, St. Elmo has many structures from the early 1900s, including a general store, a church, a school building, and many cabins. The town’s remaining buildings are being restored, and visitors can tour these as well as a number of privately owned cabins. Since the ghost town is located in a canyon, it’s easily accessible with a standard car.

Animas Forks is a ghost town

Located at an elevation of over 11,000 feet on the Alpine Loop, Animas Forks was founded on mining. In 1884, a blizzard covered the town with over 20 feet of snow. To keep warm, residents had to pop up snow to boil water, and dug tunnels to reach buildings. Despite being so remote, the town is still in relatively good shape today.

Animas Forks is about 20 miles north of Silverton. This little town is an interesting place to explore. It is possible to tour some of the old buildings. One of the best places to see the abandoned buildings is the Walsh House, which dates back to the 19th century. Visitors can see the original layout of the house and view some of the ghostly remains from that time.

Vicksburg was a mining town

The ruins of a gold-mining town can be found throughout the Clear Creek Canyon, halfway between Leadville and Buena Vista. Vicksburg was the second-largest mining town in the canyon, and was home to about 600 people. Its main street was lined with trees, including the Balm of Gilead. The town also boasted a school, a post office, a billiard hall, and a livery stable.

The gold was discovered by accident when a group of burros wandered off and landed in Vicksburg creek beds. You can get a taste of life in a mining camp by visiting the town, which features a small museum that’s open on weekends. You can also hear voices from days gone by and enjoy the changing colors of the balsam poplars during the fall. A small museum is also available, but be careful to follow signage.

Alta was a mining town

Located about ten miles outside of Telluride, Alta was a hub of mining activity during the 1870s and 1880s. Its name comes from the mining town where Nikola Tesla and George Westinghouse worked on the first industrial application of alternating current electricity. The town also has one of the first electric transmission lines, which was completed in June 1891. The area’s high elevation made it difficult to access the mines and required a four-mile day-long pack-mule trek to access the coal. The power plant solved that problem.

By the 1870s, Alta was a thriving mining town, with over 150 buildings. However, it began to decline after 1873 due to economic factors, and in the 1880s, the U.S. Army moved into the state. The town subsequently became a wild mining town. By the 1870s, Alta had grown from a tent town called Central City to a nice-sized town. However, the wildest part of the town was when it began to resemble a Wild West frontier town.